Three Tales from Vietnam by Ron Steinman. The cliché that war is hell applies perfectly to the Vietnam War. But in war as with everything, there is always respite from the daily grind, no matter how terrible the grind is, the getting through every minute of every day. The upcoming posts are only a few examples of the reality of what life was like in an ever-shifting war zone. In the next few weeks, I will present 3 stories about Vietnam you will not see anywhere else. All are true. I never presented these to Ken Burns for his documentary on Vietnam or to the New York Times for its mostly successful, but often overly academic series about Vietnam in 1967. Even if I had offered these pieces, I had no guarantee editors would have accepted them. That is beside the point. But with so much emphasis on Vietnam and as we approach the 50th Anniversary of the Tet Offensive in January 2018, I thought I would move these out of the save box and perhaps entertain you with some things about the Vietnam War you did not know. Rather than let them sit and stagnate, here they are for your enjoyment. After I post them on my WordPress blogs, Ronsteinman’s Notebooks and ronsconnectioonsblog, you will be able to find the articles on Facebook and Linkedin. I call the first one “Dressed for War.” This is the story of how we in the NBC bureau in Saigon outfitted our correspondents and camera crews to cover the war. The second piece is about food in Saigon, how journalists never went hungry and, how even during the war eating was a good experience. I call the third piece “Jo in Jail.” I will say no more about that story for now. All I will say is that none of the pieces are life-changing. But all are unique slices of life. For the record, for those who do not know I covered the war for NBC News in Vietnam from 1966 to 1973.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment